Pray for Erin

No More Earthly Medicine June 28, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — erin @ 4:49 pm

Hello Everyone,

This is Anna, Erin’s sister.  Erin may post some of her own thoughts at some point, but wanted you all to know that she has peacefully decided (along with the input from many doctors) that the medical fight for her life on earth is now over.  Erin is truly at peace and ready for whatever God chooses in the coming days.  We are still confident that God is more then capable of healing her, but we are also very aware that His version of healing may not be the same as ours.

She will likely be transferred to Hospice care early next week and we will continue to take it one day at a time.  Erin Mom and I are just enjoying time together and feel so blessed.  God is truly here with her.  We are asking that only family visit for now and check in with mom or I before coming.  Also, Erin will continue to have very limited to no access to phone and email.

Please continue to pray for healing, but if that is not in God’s plan, pray with us that He takes her peacefully and without pain.  She is looking forward to her heavenly feast!

Thank you all!

 

 

21 Responses to “No More Earthly Medicine”

  1. holly Says:

    You all remain in my prayers and thoughts .. it is easy to keep Erin in that light which lifts her and keeps her in peace .. It is easy to respect her wishes and choices .. We love you Erin and we know that this plan – Gods plan is your plan .. /giant gent hugs surrounding that love .. Always .. holly*

  2. Pat Larson Says:

    Anna and Karen, I have never known anyone with the grace of spirit and the faith that Erin has had through this physical ordeal. I have prayed for her ever since the first notice of her condition and will continue to do so. I will also pray for the two of you. Please tell Erin how much I always liked her but have come to truly love her over the last couple of years just from reading her blog. God bless you all. Pat Larson

  3. Joanie Says:

    Erin, Anna and Karen, you continue to be in our prayers and thoughts. Peace and God’s Grace to all of you. If there is anything we can do, we are a phone call away.

  4. Laurie button Says:

    Thoughts, love and prayers to each of you!

  5. Marcella Nollinger Says:

    You all continue to be in my prayers as you have been for months. As always I am amazed at your strength. Just continue to feel all the love all of us have for you and all of God’s love.

  6. Leah Hynes Says:

    Dearest Erin, Karen & Anna, my heart breaks for you all. I am so sorry you have all had this very painful journey together. I have been honoured to have shared it with you. I send you my strength, love and peace. xxx

  7. Val Pilliod Says:

    I am emotionally sick and sad. Erin, you are one of the best people I know. I continue to pray that God will realize we need you here on this Earth. Much Love. Val

  8. debby3768 Says:

    God is good, all the time. Erin believes this, and the greatest honor that we can give her is to believe that as well. Prayers for the family and for Erin.

  9. Denise Pearson Says:

    Thanks for writing, Anna. I am reminded of the scripture passage, “The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness did not overcome it.” Continued prayers for Erin and you and your Mom.

  10. Bridget dugan Vargas Says:

    Prayers for my beautiful friend Erin
    You are in my thoughts and heart

  11. Nathan Van Valkenburg Says:

    Karen, Erin, and Anna, you all are continually on my mind and in my prayers. It was truly a blessing to get to know you all, and I am incredibly thankful for you. I will keep praying that God would provide physical healing despite this prognosis. I also pray that the time you all have together would be joyful and sweet and that many would see the love that you share and would be encouraged to hope in our Lord who is making all things new. Peace be with you!

  12. Laurie Button Says:

    M

  13. Laurie Button Says:

    To Erin, Anna and Karen – My heart is heavy along, I’m sure with yours and many others. As I’ve said before you have my best thoughts, love and prayers for whatever you face next and that God’s wisdom and love will sustain you all and bring peace. I don’t know if it will help in any way but I keep being reminded of 8 or 10 years ago when we almost lost my Dad with a heart attack, stroke, seizures, and Pneumonia. He was on a ventilator for 17 days. Afterward your Dad (and husband) Gary -whom my Dad loved like one of his own sons!! said to him: ” I wasn’t sure how to pray for you; whether to ask God to make you better or to take you home” Now as a family we’re glad he recovered and we’ve had more time together. But to me this show the strong believe Gary and my Dad share in the reality of our heavenly home and the wisdom of our heavenly father. I must admit sometimes timing doesn’t seem right and it’s tempting to ask why or what if! But I pray that you will find and hold onto the belief he is All knowing and All Loving and does the right thing in his time. Blessings to all of you.

  14. Jessica Says:

    Anna, thank you for writing this update. Please let Erin know she is in my heart & prayers. You are such an awesome sister & I am so glad you & your mom are getting to spend time together with Erin. She is one the coolest chicks I know. I am grateful to know she has made the choice to rest, knowing she is in God’s magnificent hands. With Love, Jessica Gatewood

  15. Becky Smith Carey Says:

    I will continue to pray for you and your family, May God wrap his loving arm around you and give you comfort and Peace… Becky

  16. Comfort Price Says:

    Erin, your deep insight and heart for the Lord has meant so much to people. We pray that you will be healed and that you are able to be with us longer. Healing is still possible and we are praying hard for it. If that doesn’t happen, we will jealously be joyful of your reunion with the Lord and the people who have gone before us in the faith. You have left a legacy and have made an impact in your world, and that means a life well-lived, even if it turns out to be shorter than planned. We are praying diligently for you and your family. May we all trust in God’s answer to these many, many prayers for you. We love you.

  17. Richard Heysek Says:

    I will continue to pray that God has a special plan for Erin! Let’s all be ERIN STRONG!

  18. Fran McGarity Says:

    Anna, sending up Prayers for you, your Mom and especially for Erin. God is good all the time, and all the time God is good!

  19. Amy Brockhurst Says:

    Anna, I read your post late Saturday night – I felt like I was punched in the gut. I was too tired to have a full reaction. Then I went to church Sunday morning and heard an amazing message about “Fear” from the Pastor of Soul City Church in Chicago (Pastor Jarrett Stevens visits The Crossing 1x a year and I am always excited to hear God through Jarrett’s voice). Anyhoo, before the teaching started, we worshiped as we usually do and we sang “Blessed Assurance”. I was moved to tears as I found my thoughts wandering to Erin and how I know that this song has so been her life, her whole life…. and I wanted to find a way to live as obediently to Christ as she has since she was a child. I will continue to pray for Erin and I, too, believe that God can heal her if He chooses to do so. But I also rest peacefully knowing that He’s got Erin, either way this turns out… tell Erin that I love her, that I am so thankful that I know her, that she has touched my life, that my girls are thankful that they got to ride her horse and they still ask about her…

    Blessed assurance, Jesus is mine!
    Oh, what a foretaste of glory divine!
    Heir of salvation, purchase of God,
    Born of His Spirit, washed in His blood.
    Refrain:
    This is my story, this is my song,
    Praising my Savior all the day long;
    This is my story, this is my song,
    Praising my Savior all the day long.
    Perfect submission, perfect delight,
    Visions of rapture now burst on my sight;
    Angels, descending, bring from above
    Echoes of mercy, whispers of love.
    Perfect submission, all is at rest,
    I in my Savior am happy and blest,
    Watching and waiting, looking above,
    Filled with His goodness, lost in His love.

  20. Donna Myers Says:

    You are all in our thoughts and prayers. Erin, may your move from this home to your new one be peaceful. It is well with your soul. Thank you for your witness and love for Jesus.

  21. jen simmons Says:

    We love you at South City Church, Erin.


Leave a Reply

