Pray for Erin

My Body is a Machine May 8, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — erin @ 7:32 pm

So, every week when I go in for chemo the first thing they do is check my blood counts. They do this because if my counts drop enough they would stop and do a week off, even give me a transfusion if the counts are low enough. Last week when I went in they gave me chemo but also warned me that with this chemo they usually do a 3 weeks on, 1 week off rotation. Last week was my 4th week in a row so it was likely this week my counts would probably be low enough that we would want to skip today. Well, today when I went in my counts were pretty much the same as last week so we went ahead and did a 5th round! For the next few weeks we’ll keep a close eye on things and keep going if we can, but any time I can probably expect my body will need a bit of a break.

Frankly, I’m not sure they understand how hardy this Briggs-hybrid stock is. My hemoglobin (red blood cell) levels have hovered around 8.7 for 3 weeks in a row and my ANC (white blood cell) has stuck just over 1.4. I’ve been eating a lot of kale and grapefruit, I’m going to assume that’s helping and keep going with that. Doesn’t hurt that I’m kinda craving it anyway. I guess it could also be all the Vanilla Coke I’m drinking 🙂

In other news I got the purple on my hair touched up a bit yesterday and even had my stylist show me a couple other ways to style my “do”. Today I rocked a faux-hawk to chemo. It was pretty epic. Tonight I’m currently sitting with my feet in a home-rigged pedicure tub and am about to paint my toenails to match my hair. Life is good… relatively good.

 

4 Responses to “My Body is a Machine”

  1. John Agricola Says:

    I can honestly say I have never had a craving for kale : /

  2. holly Says:

    You are rockin a lot of things my friend .. I force the kale in my VitaMix with fruit every day.. but prefer spinach LOL. Your hair and now matching toes would go well with mine .. currently in navy blue [toes] .. I “could” do my hair .. let me know if there is a mission to go on 😉

    I say a prayer for you daily .. and I’m not surprised that you’re riding this wave of great blood results and positive energy. So proud of you Erin .. love from the Sierra’s .. stay strong ..xo

  3. Amy Brockhurst Says:

    Erin,
    I am so excited for you right now!!!
    God is so good!! I have been reading all of your posts and praying – so in addition to grapefruit and kale, you’re covered.
    Hey you might consider adding juice plus capsules right now. There is an oncologist who runs a cancer treatment center in Alabama (I think) and puts all of his chemo patients on juice plus capsules. I heard him lecture a few years ago in St.Charles. I can’t remember all of the specifics, but basically he said that his chemo patients who take juice plus capsules can get more chemo medication and go longer without the horrible effects afterwards.

    Just something to consider.
    Amy

  4. Wendy Stafford Says:

    Erin, this is Wendy – your Aunt Diane’s neighbor where you stayed during Matt’s wedding. Wanted you to know I’m following/praying for you & am greatly encouraged by you. ROCK the purple toes & hair!


Leave a Reply

