Pray for Erin

Finding My Rhythm April 30, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — erin @ 5:06 pm

It’s almost hard to believe I have another round of chemo tomorrow. I suppose part of it is the adjustment from the 3-week intervals I did in 2011 and the once-a-week routine we’re doing now. This week has been MUCH better than last week. In fact I’d been waiting to update you all because I was waiting for everything to go downhill and it never did. Hopefully this means good things for my future rounds, that I’ve found a bit of a rhythm and have pinpointed a few things to help me stay feeling good.

The other big news that isn’t so good is that we got the lab results back from the tissue samples my surgeon sent off. Basically they were helpful in the sense that they tell us more about the profile of my tumor, but not helpful in pinpointing any particular treatment plans. Everything we’d already been discussing is still on the table as a “possibility”. Nothing can be highlighted as particularly helpful/promising or unhelpful. So for now, we just keep doing what we’re doing. I’ve done 3 rounds now and we’ll want to go at least another month or 2 and then do some scans to see if it’s making any difference. From there we’ll decide whether to continue with this treatment (if it’s working) or try something different (if it’s not working).

For those of you who care about the more scientific details, my blood counts are holding up much better with this chemo than they did before. My WBC, ANC and Platelets are only slightly low (which they tend to be anyway because of my previous treatment). My RBC and Hemoglobin were more affected. As long as they don’t get too low we can keep on, but if they get too low we can skip a week to let them come back up.

I’m also not losing nearly as much hair as I expected. It is thinning a bit, but not so anyone other than me would notice. Just a few more strands in the shower than normal. I’m actually kinda bummed I still have to shave my legs 🙂

 

4 Responses to “Finding My Rhythm”

  1. Val Pilliod Says:

    Love You, Erin.

  2. Carol Stone Says:

    Sounding very positive, Erin! Stay strong and forward in those thoughts.
    Carol

  3. Donna Myers Says:

    Glad things have gone so well. Our woman’s group is praying. Hoping you continue to shave your legs and re-color your hair.

  4. Kristy Hutchison Says:

    Hi Erin – My dad forwarded me this blog and I wanted to let you know that I am praying for you! Your words reveal so much of God’s strength in you. You are such a tremendous example of faith and obedience. May God’s peace be with you as you fight this!
    – Kristy (from Japan class in Iidabashi :-))

    2 Corinthians 12:9
    But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.”


Leave a Reply

