Pray for Erin

Big News! March 26, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — erin @ 6:04 pm

First things first, for those of you who are helping unload in PA. We are going to try to get started around 1 on Saturday, just so you know.

Next order of business, a quick update. I had my appt with my doctor today and he has a short-term plan for me. He’s sending tissue samples of my tumor off to 2 different labs that are going to do some different kinds of testing. One lab will actually grow samples of the cancer and expose it to different drugs and come back with a report of what seemed to work and what didn’t. The other will do molecular profiling on the sample. I don’t know exactly what that means, but it will also give us an idea of what chemo drugs might work against this cancer. It will take about a month to get that information, so in the meantime he’s going to put me on a chemo called Taxol once a week as a maintenance treatment. This chemo has been used with some success with others who have had this cancer. Once we have the reports we’ll come up with a more solid treatment plan.

The thing I’m most excited about is some news I got on Sunday. For those of you who don’t know much about this type of cancer it’s very rare and extremely little is known about it. They don’t know what causes it and they don’t know how to treat it. Well, one of those mysteries has been answered. Sloan-Kettering in NYC has been doing studies along with a lab in Arizona, one in Canada and I believe another in Australia. 3 of these labs have conclusively found a cause of this cancer. They’ve been able to isolate a gene that occurred in nearly all patients. This is huge! It doesn’t necessarily help us determine treatment options, but it removes some of the mystery about this cancer. Research is continuing and hopefully more can be discovered about how to treat in the coming years.

 

4 Responses to “Big News!”

  1. Carol at Brookstone Says:

    I love this upbeat post! Thanks for sharing this information. Now, safe journey back to PA. The positive energy is WONDERFUL that I feel coming from you!

  2. Joanie Says:

    Great news for you and all future patients of this terrible disease Erin! Gary and I will be at your home around 1 on Saturday to help you. Can’t wait to see you!

  3. holly Says:

    AWESOME .. news .. and things moving forward ..

    All positive and all going in the right direction ..

    love you Erin … from the Sierra’s

  4. Val Pilliod Says:

    I don’t know why, but some how this news is comforting. I guess insight is always a good thing. I’m still mad at “it” though!!


Leave a Reply

