Pray for Erin

The Plan March 6, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — erin @ 7:41 pm

Blessed assurance Jesus is mine!
Oh what a foretaste of glory divine.
Heir of salvation, purchase of God
Born of his spirit, washed in his blood.

This is my story, this is my song
Praising my savior all the day long.

Perfect submission all is at rest.
I in my savior am happy and blessed.
Watching and waiting, looking above,
Filled with his goodness, lost in his love.

I know I have a tough road ahead. It was tough the first time and I don’t expect it to be much better this time. But I only need to take it in small doses at a time, a day here, an hour there, not all at once. I hope this can continue to be my song as I walk this road.

The past 24 hours have not brought a lot more insight as to what the next step is, but I do have clarity on a few things. The first unknown is whether or not we will start with surgery again this time. My doctor wants to review the scans with a radiologist and do a little research on how much benefit there is to starting out with a surgery when it comes to a relapse of this type of cancer. If I have surgery it will be with the same surgeon who did my last surgery.

When it comes to chemo, nothing will be like it was last time. I will not be staying in St Louis this time. I want to go home. The wheels are already in motion to get me set up to receive chemo at the hospital in my home town. I will be staying with my mom, in the home my dad built, on what I have called before “my own personal Tara.” Just like Scarlette got her strength from the land of Tara, somehow I always feel refreshed even by the mental image of the property around the house I grew up in. I’m excited to be there for when the lilacs bloom on my birthday, I haven’t seen them in years!

Many of you have been asking how you can help, what you can do. I know how helpless it can feel to be on the outside looking in and not knowing what truly helps. For now my advice is sit tight. At the moment we’re all in a waiting game to see what the first step of treatment will be. As most of you know this is a very aggressive and fast growing cancer. So once we know we’re not going to waste any time. I will be sure to keep you all posted as specific needs arise.

 

13 Responses to “The Plan”

  1. Sue Says:

    Hi Erin… As you move forward on your journey may you continue to be upbeat and know there’s always sun after the rainy days..

  2. Reinhild Burchardt Says:

    I’m so sorry Erin that the cancer has come back! I shared Kathy Joy’s post and then yours with my online prayer partner group. I will also ask my women’s bible study group to pray for you & your mom. May the God of all grace, mercy and love surround you with His comfort & peace.
    Thanks for the updates.

  3. Denise Pearson Says:

    Wishing it weren’t so; thanking God for his faithful presence & love and your reflection of his grace.

  4. Val Pilliod Says:

    I am so sorry that you will not be around here. However, if I were you I’d be going HOME as quickly as possible. God loves you and so do I. I have the utmost faith in your strength and God’s strength for you. If any one can beat this, you can.

  5. Kathy Sears Says:

    I am praying for you and your mom. Know that God is with you in every step you take and every decision you make.

  6. Sarah Burdick Heller Says:

    My dear Erin,
    My heart breaks for you as I read that this horrible diaease is back. I’m glad to see you are coming home. I would def like to see you and be of some kind of help to you and/or your mom during this trying time that lies ahead. I do work full time and have a new baby, but I still want to be there for you if ever need be. Maybe to sit with you during a treatment, or give you a ride somewhere. I am here when you need anything. Just let me know. May Jesus be with you in the days ahead-May He give you strength, peace and hope. This wasy daily bible verse I recovered today from my bible app. I thought it might be an encouragement.
    Instead of your shame you will receive a double portion, and instead of disgrace you will rejoice in your inheritance. And so you will inherit a double portion in your land, and everlasting joy will be yours. (Isaiah 61:7 NIV)

  7. Joanie Says:

    We will be here for you,when you arrive home. Continued prayers for strength!

  8. Erin, I’m so sorry to hear you’re facing this battle again. I am glad you’ll be able to be home with your Mom and at home for your treatment. I know being home to be with my parents is a comforting thing for me. The verse I’m sending was in my e-mail this morning and I know how strong your faith is and I admire it so much. I thought perhaps at some time when it gets hard to remember, this might help. “The Lord is good, a stronghold in the day of trouble; and he knows them that trust in him.” Nahum 1:7

  9. Jennifer Huck Says:

    Erin, I’m so sorry to hear you’re facing this battle again. Continued prayers for strength and know that God is with you in every step you take and every decision you make.

  10. Cindy Mallin Says:

    Thanks, Erin, for posting this and allowing us to pray for you. Will also pray for your sweet mom. Glad you are going to be with her at this time.

  11. Alice Bentley Says:

    Love you Erin and praying for you. I am keeping in touch with your Grandma….hugs and kisses. Love Aunt Alice

  12. Carol Says:

    You are a brave and wonderful young woman. Returning to the “Tara” homestead to gather strength from your land is powerful. Please know you are in my thoughts.


Leave a Reply

