Pray for Erin

Bring it on! February 15, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — erin @ 1:03 am

Ok, that’s mostly me pretending to be brave. But I can almost say that with enthusiasm. Tomorrow (Wednesday) I start the high-dose chemo. It’s intimidating, but it’s been nice to be able to pull myself out of the rut of feeling run down and sick for a few weeks and get some perspective before going in. When I was going through my regular chemo it was really hard to be able to have perspective, it felt like I was in an endless cycle of feeling awful. But now I feel able to face the next few weeks and realize that it’s just a phase, a season I need to go through that will only last a few weeks and then I can just recover.

I do think I’m starting to miss my hair. At the beginning I really was hoping that at least my eyebrows and eyelashes wouldn’t fall out. They held on for awhile but after round 5 I really started to notice them thinning. I’m down to about 1 1/2 eyebrows (seriously, the one brow is only about a half inch long). Well last Saturday night I had a dream that my eyebrows had grown back in. Then last night I had a dream that my hair was long and I was trying to curl it. I do have some fuzzies coming in on my brows, but I suspect they’ll fall out during this next round. None of my other hair seems to be growing back after 4 weeks off. I hope it doesn’t wait too long to start coming back. I don’t want to have to wear headgear in the hot St Louis summer weather! Although not having to shave my legs has been nice.

It will probably be awhile before I can post another update since I won’t have my computer in the hospital. In the meantime prayers that the side effects from the chemo would be minimal and that I could maintain a positive attitude would be much appreciated. I’ll catch you all on the flip-side.

 

13 Responses to “Bring it on!”

  1. Jaye ALLES Says:

    Dearest Erin! You are so extraordinary,
    I am waiting for the book on this
    journey! What a great witticism and
    Love of small thing you have shared
    along your ride. Can’t wait Til I get
    back to St Louis for a visit to see you
    and check out those eyebrows! Keep
    up the great spiritual, inner thoughts
    and see you this summer healed and
    gaining monumentum! Love you Erin,
    Am always with you in my thoughts
    and conversations with GOD, Jaye

  2. Becky Smith Says:

    Much love and prayers coming your way…

    Billy Graham: Inspirational Quotes…

    I’ve read the last page of the Bible. It’s all going to turn out all right.

  3. holly Says:

    Erin you are on your way .. you have kept your head up and hair or not – your faith and your energy is well directed … you are having great dreams .. katrina would say remember those as they often tell a story 🙂 i can only imagine – because I have not walked in your shoes – so I wont pretend to totally understand .. but after all the bouts and treatments with my sister over the years I did learn to be more patient – because when she was strong – she was right.

    you are strong and surrounded by so much love and positive energy. put yourself in that pink bubble of protective healing light – and energy of your own. let them take care of you through this phase and we’ll all be keeping you in our prayers.

    much love and many gentle hugs from veromont from me and the pups ~ holly*

  4. Janie Rohlin Says:

    Erin~you are a very blessed woman. We are praying for you in this circumstance. Remember your scripture and hang on to it. We are claiming it with you. The end of the tunnel is near and the light is getting brighter. You’ve gone through so much and you have become a strong woman from it. God is ALWAYS with you.

  5. Chelsea Says:

    Prayers always! Thinking of you everyday! I know you’ll kick this high dose chemos butt!

  6. Val Says:

    LOVE YOU- ERIN

  7. Jason Says:

    Erin, I don’t know you, but a friend of mine posted this link on Facebook, and I began reading, and just welling up with tears for you. I am literally sitting here with tears down my face. (That never happens to me, but something about your story just brought it on!) You are so brave and so strong. I can’t even begin to imagine. I am praying for you, and keep being strong. You are and will continue to be an inspiration to MANY. Please kick cancer’s butt for EVERYONE out there! If you ever feel discouraged, weak or down, I hope Psalm 23 will be a comfort to you.

    The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want.

    He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters.

    He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.

    Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me.

    Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies: thou anointest my head with oil; my cup runneth over.

    Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the LORD for ever.

  8. I’ve been doing a daily devotional lately that’s written as if Jesus is speaking directly to the reader, and I’m hoping that today’s devotion might be of some help and encouragement. I’m just gonna copy the whole thing down and hope that the publishers don’t track me down and sue me for intellectual property theft.

    February 15

    Come to Me with all your weaknesses: physical, emotional, and spiritual. Rest in the comfort of My Presence, remembering that *nothing is impossible with Me.*

    Pry your mind away from your problems so you can focus your attention on Me. Recall that I am able to do immeasurably more than all you ask or imagine. Instead of trying to direct Me to do this and that, seek to attune yourself to what I am *already* doing.

    When anxiety attempts to wedge its way into your thoughts, remind yourself that I am your Shepherd. The bottom line is that I am taking care of you; therefore, you needn’t be afraid of anything. Rather than trying to maintain control over your life, abandon yourself to My will. Though this may feel frightening–even dangerous, the safest place to be is in My will.

    (Luke 1:37, Ephesians 3:20-21, Psalm 23:1-4)

  9. Linda Morgan Says:

    Hi Erin…sure sounds like you are ready to get this final phase over with and are going into it with a good, positive attitude and that means a world of difference in your recovery. I’m lifting you daily before the Lord that this will all be over quickly and that you’ll be blessed with minimal side effects and that your positive attitude will overcome the tough times. Just rest in the prayers being sent up on your behalf. You haven’t walked one step of this journey alone and you’ll continue to have many mighty prayer warriors all around you, covering you in prayer and battling in the spirit realm for you. Jesus loves you so much and He’s not only by your side through all this, but He’s holding your hand! I’m trusting and expecting to see God’s mighty hand in all of this and I believe that when this part of the journey is over, you will have the most amazing testimony of God’s goodness to share with everyone you come in contact with. We serve a good God – a God of miracles – a God of Love – a living, active God. I praise Him daily. I’m sure that while you’re going through this portion of treatment you won’t be allowed any “outside” things, so I’m going to wait to send another card until you’re home…but just because you won’t have a card to tell you I’m thinking of you, praying for you and cheering you on…just remember I’m still doing all those things! I’m also keeping your sister and your mom lifted in prayer – I know this is hard on them as well. But God’s going to carry you all through, so that all can see His goodness. (((HUGS))) “Angel” Linda

  10. Pete Says:

    All prayers your way Erin.

  11. Joan Q. McAfoos Says:

    Dear Erin, Our thoughts and prayer continue for you and your family. May the Lord keep you strong!

  12. Alice Says:

    Praying for you this day. Love you Aunt Alice

  13. Jen Huck Says:

    Prayers are going up for you right now.


Leave a Reply

