Pray for Erin

Pray for Beverly December 15, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — erin @ 11:00 pm

Hey folks, I’d just like to mention a special friend of mine I met last week. The things I know about her are random and would make a great run-on sentence, but I’ll try to keep my thoughts coherent. Her name is Beverly and she’s older (could almost be my grandma) and has multiple myeloma. Both her mother and her sister had multiple myeloma as well and I believe her aunt had leukemia. I met her last week as she was also getting blood levels tested daily in prep for stem cell collection this week. Her blood levels were high enough to start collections Monday, but her collections have not been great and she’s had to come back every day this week. I will see her again tomorrow.

This time is particularly hard on her and her husband as they are from out of town and have had to stay in a hotel the last 2 weeks. She has only been through one round of chemo so far and I know she was not able to eat much last week, and just this week has started losing her hair. I think she tries hard to be strong, but I have hardly had a conversation with her where she doesn’t get teary eyed. The first time I spoke with her she mentioned that she’s participating in a clinical trial and just hopes that at least she can help someone else as a result of what she has to go through. Before she left today she asked me how I handled losing my hair and if I shaved it right away. I said something about how mine came out really fast. A tear came to her eye and she said she broke down crying when she saw hers coming out in the shower.

Between dealing with her disease, being in an unfamiliar city and having to deal with these strange side effects she’s got a lot on her plate right now. I don’t know much about her faith, I believe she’s catholic and I know one morning she said she had prayed for me and today we caught her “whispering to herself” and she chuckled and said she was praying. I’d love to be able to tell her tomorrow that she has an army of prayer warriors petitioning our great God on her behalf!

 

12 Responses to “Pray for Beverly”

  1. Clara Says:

    I will be glad to pray for Beverly. I hope she will have some good results from her treatments. Wish I had a better place to provide housing, for people from out of town. Only have one bathroom & the house needs lots of work done, so not the best, especially for someone that is weak & dealing with health problems.

  2. Denise Pearson Says:

    Already praying for Beverly and giving thanks to God for your compassion and faith!
    Love to you and Anna and your Mom,
    Denise

  3. Cindy Flatt Says:

    I’ll be praying for Beverly too as I pray for you.

  4. Rachel & Randy Says:

    It is good of you to share and ask for prayer for Beverly. I will spend some time this morning in prayer for you both!
    ~Rachel

  5. Linda Morgan Says:

    Praying for Beverly, as I’m praying for you too.

    Linda

  6. Karen Martin Says:

    You can tell her we are busy here in Russellburg praying for her and for you Erin.

  7. Janie Rohlin Says:

    You amaze me!!! Here you are fighting for your life and you are thinking of another one fighting. May you be blessed abundantly by God. We will pray for this woman. God knows the plans He has for ALL of us. We forget that sometimes. We need to press in to His loving arms and just relax. He is in charge. We are praying for you, Erin. Blessings to you and your family.

  8. Kathy Sears Says:

    Tell Beverly she has at least one more prayer warrior in her battle with cancer.

  9. I’ll be praying and thinking of you both! đŸ™‚

  10. Tammy Hawk Says:

    Prayers to both you and Beverly….

  11. Sherry Says:

    Erin,
    I will be lifting her up in prayer along with you, Anna and your Mom.

  12. Alice Says:

    Yes I will remember her. It is amazing how God puts us in contact with people that seek Him. I pray that you will have opportunity to share the Good News of Jesus with her. Think of you daily. Love Aunt Alice


Leave a Reply

