Pray for Erin

Still in the Hospital December 12, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — erin @ 8:59 pm

So here I sit. Still in a hospital bed 3 days later. My blood counts have started to come up and I haven’t had a fever since the first night I was here. I was hoping I could get discharged today, but they won’t let me go quite yet. At first they had me on 2 antibiotics. I had a reaction to one of them, which they gave me i.v. benadryl for. The benadryl cleared up the reaction but I hate the way it makes me feel and that first night it made me very nauseated. After Saturday they let me do just oral benadryl, which still made my sinuses very dry and I get so groggy, but I didn’t have the same awful “rush” as I got with the i.v. Since I haven’t had a fever for a few days and my counts are going up I was able to convince the doctor that I didn’t need both antibiotics anymore so I’m completely off the i.v. now except for 30 minutes every 8 hours, and benadryl free.

As far as the stem cell harvest goes, they’re hoping to be able to do it tomorrow. If they can then they might let me out once I’m done with that. I’m keeping my fingers crossed. Even if for some reason I can’t do the collection tomorrow I hope they let me come off the one antibiotic and let me go home. Time will tell. They’ll be drawing my blood VERY early tomorrow morning to see if I need a transfusion before the stem cell procedure. Then hopefully sometime tomorrow afternoon I can go home!

Thursday I have another outpatient procedure to place a stint in my left ureter which is being compressed by some fluid in my abdomen. So I don’t have a lot of free time on my “good” week this round. Next week I start the 5th round and then it’s Christmas. Anna will be driving down from Chicago and staying with me during my low week. Then I’ll just have the round in January to get through and 4-6 weeks off while I don’t need to worry about anything… except probably getting to CT scan and blood tests. I should be feeling good for a lot of that time so it will be a nice break before the high-dose.

 

5 Responses to “Still in the Hospital”

  1. Regan Says:

    Praying for you Erin. Thanks for keeping your blog up to date. I can’t tell you how many times I have thought about your recently. I will be praying tonight that your fever stays away, your counts are up, they can do the stem cell harvest and they let you go home so you can enjoy this “good week.” I am also praying for strength as you finish your next couple rounds of chemo. I pray that God will give you some amazing strength for Christmas and that you are truly able to treasure the family time this year. Again, keep updating your blog! And the music therapist in me says, keep your favorite music close by throughout your hospitalization, chemo, and home time! God bless, friend!

  2. holly Says:

    Oh Erin – It was GOOD to open my mail and see your own words and note here this morning the 13th. It sounds as though you ARE keeping on top of the docs and getting what YOU feel is right .. that is GREAT .. as long as you can speak for yourself and be heard you are on track! I hope that the schedule opens and the harvest takes place but regardless .. know that you stay in our prayers and thoughts .. with gentle hugs as we head into the shortest and darkest days of the year. Keep the faith – from Vermont – holly*

  3. Erin,
    Ellie, Evie and Paul and I have not stopped praying for you. We love you! Ellie is very concerned and asks about your condition frequently. She remembers your horses.
    We love you,
    Amy

  4. Mike Baker Says:

    Erin

    WE are praying for you for comfort and total healing. You don’t know me I’m your second cousin on your mothers side. We have been following your updates and hope and pray the treatments are working. Your grandma Jean was my favorite aunt of all. MAY GOD RICHLY BLESS YOU. lOVE MIKE AND CRYSTAL BAKER, SEYMOUR, IN

  5. Jen Huck Says:

    Praying for you Erin. Thanks for keeping your blog up to date. I can’t tell you how many times I have thought about your recently. I will be praying tonight that your fever stays away, your counts stay up, they can do the stem cell harvest and they let you go home.


Leave a Reply

