Pray for Erin

Things I can’t wait for December 6, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — erin @ 3:31 pm

I guess it’s a sure sign that I’m starting to see the light at the end of the tunnel now that I’m starting to look forward to the way my life might look after treatment. We’re well over halfway done now that round 4 is over, 2 more rounds to go (and then the high-dose). It still feels like there’s a lot left, and I certainly can’t wait to get these peripheral medical devices off/out of my body (my mom calls me the bionic woman), but there’s definitely less left to go through than what I’ve already done.

In honor of the light of the end of the tunnel, here’s an incomplete list of some of the things I’m looking forward to once treatment is done.

  • Weddings. I don’t know if I’ll be able to make it to all of them, but it seems I know a lot of people who are getting engaged lately and married this summer. I hope I’ll be healthy enough to make it to all of them.
  • My birthday. So, slightly selfish, but it will be such a nice birthday present to have it be springtime and be healthy (hopefully!).
  • Not having to worry so much about what I eat or how much I eat. If I want to eat junk food, bring it on. If I don’t feel like eating I won’t have to. And best of all not having to worry about if something I’m eating will make me feel nauseous.
  • Horses. I cannot wait to get back out to the barn.
  • Work. It may seem silly, and I’m not even sure if I completely believe myself on this one, but just the sense of normalcy and living a normal life and being able to go to work will be nice.
  • Shopping. Ok, work comes first so I have money to go shopping. But being able to get out of the house and go places without worrying about what germs I might come in contact with.
  • Travelling. Again with the germs. And I miss my family and home and it will be nice to be able to get back to PA for awhile.

In closing here’s a picture of our Christmas tree. The garland is made out of oragami paper cranes which are part of the symbol for small cell ovarian cancer and are a also a symbol of health. Friends and family have coordinated to make a thousand of these for me during my treatment. I think the tree is beautiful, even if it is fake. Fortunately God created pine scented candles so we have those to compensate…

 

7 Responses to “Things I can’t wait for”

  1. holly Says:

    Erin dear heart – what a beautiful tree – what a beautiful set of thoughts for the time ahead and what a beautiful list of things that you’re looking forward to. Honestly, it is all really beautiful and a reflection of you and what is inside. So take good care of that (I know you are) and stay the course and keep the prayers going and know that we are all blessed – every day – and especially this time of the year during the holiday season. love – holly*
    PS – the horses will also be super happy to see you of that I am sure .. 🙂

  2. Jane Shuke Says:

    I love this message. Oh my, what we take advantage of when one has their health and all is going well.. Always remember Erin’s wish list of life’s most simple things. Notice how simple they were? This is the place where God wants us to get–that we would also simplify our own lives and rethink what we say are needs. Erin’s words are words of wisdom resulting from His loving permission to allow suffering. How does it feel to be ‘carried’ by Jesus, Erin? He does keep His promises to us, doesn’t He? You’re a strong young lady in your walk. Thanks for lifting me up. God’s peace and strength.

  3. Val Says:

    Way to go Erin. You sound so good. last Thursday I was riding Nosie. She either got scared or mad and did this enormous buck. I remember thinking; she’s bucking, I’m going off. What really disturbs me is I just let it happen. I didn’t fight back. If I had enough time to think that much, I had time to fight back. You are a good fighter, Erin. Keep up the good fight. You will win. I love the tree.

  4. Carol Stone Says:

    I love your positive and progressive attitude! Atta girl, you go!

    Your tree is beautiful. I think of you so often. I am also pleased you keep all of us informed with this blog.

    It is always the best to read your post~
    Carol at Brooktone

  5. Pat Larson Says:

    The tree is beautiful, honey. Erin, I have no doubt that you are going to do all those things on your list and many more. What a blessing you are to others. I do hope that I will be able to see you when you make your trip to Russell. God is so good; I am so glad that His love is abundant. You are His beautiful child and He will carry you through.

  6. Jason Burris Says:

    Just wanted to say your attitude is great Erin! Can’t wait to hear more good news in the future 🙂 Praying for you.

    Jason

  7. Jen Huck Says:

    Praying for you Your attitude is great Erin!


Leave a Reply

