Pray for Erin

Chemo Round 2 October 25, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — erin @ 12:01 pm

It’s been awhile since I’ve updated here so even though chemo was last week I’ll go ahead and bring you up to speed. Round 2 went SO much more smoothly! Not being post-op I think has made a huge difference. Anna is  still here and of course having her around has been great. I’m going to miss her next week. I’m finding I’m a more affectionate person these days and she and I are calling it “cancer cuddles”. 🙂

My hair isn’t falling out as enthusiastically as it was a few days ago. Most of what’s left is pretty blonde. I wouldn’t be surprised if this round of chemo kills it, or I may be left with peach fuzz for the next few months.

Mom got a call today from Barne’s Hospital here in St Louis. Part of the protocol for the course of treatment I’m on involves a “high dose” round of chemo after I finish my normal chemo. I don’t know what exactly that means, but I know it’s severe enough that it requires bone marrow to be drawn before and infused afterwards to recover. It’s kind of a scary prospect. Anyway, the hospital where I’m receiving my chemo doesn’t do bone marrow transplants, and since I’m uninsured I need to be approved to go through some program at Barne’s. I have an appointment there next Monday afternoon and am kinda nervous about it. Prayer’s about this whole high dose chemo thing are much appreciated.

I’ve really been enjoying lately the types of conversations this phase of my life has encouraged me to have with my friends. We’re talking more about things like the purpose of life and God’s sovereignty. Why don’t we have conversations like that more often? Why does it take something like this for us to turn our minds to these topics? I don’t have the answer, but I’m sure it has something to do with our fallen nature. It’s a good thing God knows exactly how He made us and meets us right where we are.

 

7 Responses to “Chemo Round 2”

  1. Reinhild B Says:

    Thank you, Erin, for the update. You are on the prayer list for my women’s bible study and my international prayer warrior groups. We know that God loves you and wants the very best for you. He is walking with you through this very difficult experience. May the Spirit bring you comfort, peace and strength. Trusting with you, Reinhild and friends.

  2. michaelradin Says:

    Erin Great to hear from you still Praying and many friends and family praying too!
    . I’m finding I’m a more affectionate person these days and she and I are calling it “cancer cuddles”. <<<<Love this comment
    Amazingly Darrin @ the Journey spoke on healing Sunday it was awesome I couldn't stop crying…It wasn't that it was spoke of like Healing as we think of it just automatically Gods will but that God heals in a variety way and methods and we just never know how He will do it as always just great to hear from you
    Mike

  3. I love this post because it shows the movement you are making Erin .. every step .. moments or hours or days .. in the right direction ..can’t encourage those around you enough to step in – step up and find the folks in St Louis area who can advocate for you and the procedures you need and all the laborious paperwork and time it takes .. every little bit helps .. Katrina taught us/me to be aware of these many things and to never ever be afraid to step up and help – it comes in lots of different forms … I hope you know you are loved and we’ll keep your healing in a big pink bubble and continue to send energy and light for you – gentle hugs – holly butterman and the critters at snowview

  4. Tracy Erickson Says:

    EVERYONE PLEASE READ!!. (maybe you could repost this Erin so everyone can read it or on facebook) We are having a benefit for Erin in her home town Russell PA it will be on Jan. 7th. If anyone would like to help, attend, or donate please contact me. If you would like to buy a raffle ticket, donate food, donate items to raffle off, work a few hours or in anyway help please email me…. Tracy Erickson(cousin) tracy@modpeapod.com ANYTHING anyone can do to help would be so much appreciated even if you can only donate a handmade potholder! THANK YOU!!!!

  5. Joan Q. McAfoos Says:

    Wonderful to hear this round went better Erin. You and your family are in our prayers. Love that you are finding the good in a bad situation. That is what God would want you to do. Hugs and prayers coming your way. Joanie

  6. diane Says:

    Erin & Anna,
    We are all continuing to pray. We think of you often through the day and always with prayers for you.

  7. Jason Says:

    Erin,

    It’s Jason… from the Land of Tuva!

    Ken shared your blog with us last week. I’m glad you started one! I really hope you’re feeling better. Keep the positive vibes flowing… You CAN beat this.

    PS: We all miss you here at the office. Sending good thoughts your way.


Leave a Reply

