Pray for Erin

2.0 × 10^-5 October 13, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — erin @ 11:14 am

According to the Small Cell Ovarian Cancer Foundation “Ovarian cancer affects 2% of all women; small cell accounts for 0.1% of this.” That was how likely it was for me to get this. I don’t know what the odds are for that stat, “1 in x” or how that compares to other rare events like getting struck by lightning (maybe someone else will feel like doing the thinking on that and let me know in the comments), but the bottom line is this is rare. As a result there have been few studies done, and little in the way of research or protocols that have been proven as reliable treatments. We’re basically flying by the seat of our pants here.

It’s so strange to think of my body working against itself like this. Aside from modern medicine I was on a collision course with death. Even with modern medicine… it’s just strange to think that something we take so for granted and something that is usually so good at healing itself turned on itself like that. It makes me realize how little control I have even over my own body. I may try to eat right, stay active, etc. But ultimately I can’t keep my body from turning on me. It’s good to know there’s one who IS in control and I just need to trust him. Trusting doesn’t mean my physical body will be healed, but it does mean He will do what’s best for me and ultimately I will be healed either way.

This has been a really good week for me though. I’m not so tired like I was last week. Although I’ve been hesitant to venture out much because of my white blood cell counts being so low last week. I have a doctor’s appointment later today that should tell me more along those lines. It’s amazing how much of a learning curve is involved in having the “best” chemo experience. Just yesterday I stopped taking one of my anti-nausea meds and the result has been so great. I was having side effects I didn’t even know were side effects. I’m so happy to be functioning at a more, well, functional capacity.

In other news, my hair started falling out a few days ago. I noticed it in the shower. When I went to shampoo it came off all over my hands. So, that day I went out and got it shaved. Not shaved bald, I’ve got about a quarter inch of stubble. This will be so much less messy to deal with and I must say, I make one sexy bald girl! 😉

Next week Anna is coming to stay with me and I can’t wait for her to get here. Although that does mean I’ll be starting another round of chemo a few days later. Round 2 starts next Tuesday, not sure how much I’ll be able to update. We’re hoping we learned a few lessons last time around and this time will go a little more smoothly.

 

11 Responses to “2.0 × 10^-5”

  1. Tell Anna hello for me. Still praying.
    Thanks for the update.

  2. Clara Says:

    Erin,

    I am sorry you are having to deal with this. I will be praying for you and want to let you know that I haven’t been working much, so have time available to help you, with whatever you need done. Cleaning, cooking, driving you places, or whatever you need. Please let me know how I can help.

  3. Joan Q. McAfoos Says:

    Bald is beautiful Erin! I remember Nancy Beach and how beautiful she was. The face shines and people notice that more than hair. Glad you are feeling better and that Anna will come to help. Know we continue to pray for you and your family.

  4. Linda Morgan Says:

    Just hang in there Erin…so many are praying for you. Glad that you’ve had a better week…just keep taking care of you. Will be praying for the counts to come up. Glad to hear you’re sister’s coming to help you out too. Just stay positive about the bald part…bald is beautiful…and as another friend of mine said, “It saved me a bunch of money on shampoo” – she just used her Dove bar when she showered! Just update us when you can…totally understand how much chemo takes a toll. Send *Angel Hugs* your way…and keep an eye out on the mailbox for some more Angel mail coming your way. May God’s blessings and peace flow over you…just rest in His hands…that’s the best place to be.

  5. Tracy Says:

    I pray and think of you daily! If I can do anything let me know. I can come out and get your horse to cate for. I know there is not much you can dish out to anyone to help but maybe thus is a way to help

  6. Dan Darr Says:

    Hey, we’re officially cancer cousins. Thanks for the genetics grandma & grandpa! You have been given a gift from God that noone else can comprehend – clarity -..i had a short experience of that gift- but now i am unfortunately back to regular old life filled with misguided priorities, fear, and wasted time! Hopefully, Your able to hold onto that gift for longer than me.
    I hope they weren’t giving you Compazine for nausea! Don’t take that crap – it is an evil drug!! I had a bad reaction to it, and a few ppl i know had similar…You realize you inherited the power to tell anyone in thefamily what to do now.. Might come in handy over the holidays if ur around… Lol.. I know you would never do that..im having trouble writing this from my phone so ill cut it short! Love you, and i know you have your mind right.. Hope you come home for holidays … Peace & love , Dan

  7. Rachel & Randy Says:

    I’m no mathematician – but regardless of the odds, and though few can guide you, we know who holds you through your journey and He will be with you every step of the way. I bet you’re cute with your stubble.

  8. Krista Says:

    Erin, my mom passed the blog on to me so I want to let you know I’ll be reading and praying for you. She loves to help out so let her know if you need anything. I know you have been a wonderful friend to Dustin and Tera so my family is very thankful for you. Love, Krista (dustin’s sister)

    • Joy Says:

      Erin,

      Sooo good to hear from you. Keep your head high you are beautiful. Ready for another week to Zap that cancer. We are all praying for a miracle.
      Your mom is doing great, she has the post office back in shape after only a couple of days.
      You may feel like your flying by the seat of your pants but God isnt and He has a purpose and a plan for you..
      Love you and praying this week goes better for you than the last time.

  9. Reinhild B Says:

    Hello, Erin! Kathy Hoffner asked prayer for you several weeks ago. Today she forwarded your blog and I appreciate the opportunity to keep up with your writing. I’ll be at our women’s bible study tomorrow morning and will ask for prayer for you then, as well. I also have an internet group of staunch prayer warriors who will be praying, too. You are special to God and to your sisters-in-Christ. May the peace & comfort of the Holy Spirit be with you each and every moment. Kathy’s friend, Reinhild (Surrey, B.C., Canada)

  10. Jenny Says:

    Erin, I just learned of this today when I visited Abovelevel and scrolled down to catch up on the ish. I hope, considering the circumstance, that you are doing well. Let me know if there’s anything I can do, and know that you’re in my thoughts and prayers. Even though we’ve never really met, you’ve got a friend in me. Jenny (The Joy of Horses and infrequent commenter on AL). 🙂


Leave a Reply

