Pray for Erin

To God be the Glory October 4, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — erin @ 4:24 pm

… Great things he hath done.
So loved He the world that he gave us His Son
Who yielded His life an atonement for sin
And opened the lifegate that all may come in

Praise the Lord! Praise the Lord!
Let the earth hear his voice
Praise the Lord, Praise the Lord
Let the people rejoice

Oh come to the Father through Jesus the Son
And give Him the glory great things He hath done

I woke up around 3 am last night and couldn’t fall back asleep for almost 2 hours and this old hymn came to me (I almost got up right then and blogged about it). I love these old hymns, the almost cryptic and beautifully profound poetry. There are few songs written with such depth these days. I think the reason this song came to be is because I’ve had so many people tell me they are using my situation to bring glory to God whenever they talk about it. In the middle of the haze of chemo and drugs it makes it hard to say it’s worth it, but it does make me feel honored.

The last week has truly been a haze. The nausea from chemo wasn’t terrible, but I did have some effects Tuesday night and Wed morning, so they upped my meds. Actually they put me on Benadryl during the day which pretty much knocked me out cold. The anti-nausea meds I was taking at home also made me groggy so I’ve been sleeping a lot. They told me days 5-7 after the start of chemo would probably be the worst, today is day 8 so we’re starting to cut back on those meds. Day 10 after chemo is supposed to be when my white blood cell count is the lowest so I’ll be the most tired. I have a Dr’s appt that day to draw blood and see how I’m doing, that’s Thursday.

Eating has been tough. Since my initial admission to the hospital (pre-surgery) I have lost 20 pounds. I’m trying to eat more, but food doesn’t have much flavor and I’m not that hungry. Between that and the nausea keeping weight on is tough. I have a break next week of no chemo and minimal meds I’m hoping to try to beef up some more. I feel like a whisper of my former self.

Today was a pretty good day though. There’s a pond just down the street from my apartment and mom and I walked to it and circled it twice after lunch. Oh, and the hat I was knitting during that first day of chemo got done! I’d post a picture, but it’s supposed to be a beret and in spite of losing 20 pounds my head is too big and it looks more like a beanie cap on me 🙂

 

13 Responses to “To God be the Glory”

  1. Joan Q. McAfoos Says:

    We continue to pray for your Erin. Hoping you will sleep well tonight and be able to eat. So happy you and your mom got in a nice walk today. Let us know if you need anything.

  2. Mike Baker Says:

    Erin Please send address so I can send a annointed prayer cloth to you.

  3. Kolette Johnson Says:

    Dear Erin, So good to see your posting. I’ve been wanting to contact you since I heard of your situation. We r keeping you in our thoughts n prayers. Great knowing ur mom is there with u. I believe this will pass n you will be able to look back in time to tell the story with all your renewed health. Hold on to your dreams…think positive n believe that you are on the road to health n wellness. Take care n stay in touch, K

  4. Annie Feldpausch Says:

    Erin, 
    Maybe beanie caps will be the big thing this winter? ;). This is Anna’s friend, Annie. It’s good to hear from you, via your blog posts.  Can’t imagine how tough this fight must be.  The Feldpausch fam is lifting you and your family up in prayer, daily.  Stay strong!  If there’s anything else we can do, please let us know.  Continue to rest in the hope that God has and will continue to use this trial for his Glory (2 Cor 1:1-11 & 1 Peter 1:3-9).
    Annie

    • diane Says:

      Thanks for posting Erin. People have told me that we look alike. 🙂 I consider that a huge compliment. Have a good day today. We love you.

  5. Sherry Lawson Says:

    Erin,
    As I sat here and read your blog this morning… I had goosebumps and tears at the same time! Goosebumps because of the beautiful words you have written in the midst of turmoil and pain… God has truly blessed you with clarity in this adverse situation – you are such a witness of His love and grace. I am honored to be able to pray for you.
    I too love the “old” hymns… they speak volumes!
    The tears came just because I feel so bad that you have to endure this in your young life… and because of all you have been thru in the past. God was glorified then and He is being glorified once again… so hang in there and remember that the prayers of the righteous availeth MUCH. There are many people lifting you all up in prayer and supplication… we trust, we believe, and we never give up HOPE.
    I pray that you will have a joyful and good day today!
    Tell your Mom that she is one of the strongest courageous people that I know and that I am thinking of her and praying for her every day!

  6. Jen Huck Says:

    I continue to pray for your Erin. Hoping you feel better soon. So happy you and your mom got in a nice walk. Let me know if you or mom your need anything..

  7. Linda Morgan Says:

    It was great reading your latest post. I’ve been keeping you and your mom in my prayers. Keep HOPE in your heart. You take care…see you at the mailbox real soon 🙂

  8. Rachel & Randy Says:

    Erin, I’ve been reading 2 Corinthians this last week. I lingered through chapter 4 today where it talks about our “light and momentary troubles.” The words are much weightier when read against the backdrop of real personal struggles….through the “haze of chemo and drugs” doctors appointments, nausea, and side effects. Troubles can feel anything but light and momentary. Your blog reminds us of how powerfully God’s Spirit ministers to His people in these times so that “inwardly we are renewed day by day.”
    “Let the earth hear His voice…let the people rejoice!” We hear His voice in your blog and rejoice as you lift your heart in praise to Him.
    Continuing in prayer for you…
    Rachel

  9. pat larson Says:

    Hi, Erin.I hope it is okay for an old English teacher to contact you! Dan and I pray for u daily. I have always known that u were special; this website is proof of that. God bless and keep u until u are healthy again.

  10. Kathy Joy Hoffner Says:

    Erin, I read your blog out loud to my Mom (June) at her kitchen table. I decided to start by singing the hymn ~ she joined in and tears came to our eyes as we sang out “Let the earth hear His voice!”. It was like a prayer and a benediction and a cry for help and a plea for healing, all bundled into one holy moment. As we sang we witnessed again how God is leaning into our pain and hearing our voices as we hear His too. Thank you for sharing that hymn and know it bounced right back to you from our hearts!
    Love,
    Kathy

  11. Alice Says:

    Dear Erin:
    I love the song that the Lord gave you. You are so right about the Truth that is in those old hymns. So thankful for your love for Him and I know that God will be Glorified during this time. I am praying for you and all the family. Thanks for taking the time out to keep us updated. Love you because you are more than my niece you are “my sister “IN Christ”. Always In HIS Care..Love Alice

  12. Joy Says:

    Erin,
    I have been singing” Praise the Lord Praise the Lord Let the earth hear His voice”, all week, thank you as you have helped all who read this hear His voice.. As I listen to your words and see your love for The Lord it reminds me of the book Anna recomended years ago Henry Nouewens “Life of the Beloved” you truly are His Beloved. As you go through this may God continue to give you Peace that passeth understanding.

    With God in the vessel I’ll smile at the storm….I also love 2Chorinthians 1:1-11.
    Whats a beanie cap?
    Love you
    Joy


Leave a Reply

